Sweet and Spicy Chicken Salad

Standard

I am planning on making Chicken Salad for the café and I decided to make three different types and use my dad as a taste tester. He did not object of course. It is a benefit of having me as a daughter. For my first Chicken Salad recipe I wanted to try something sweet and spicy and add a crunch to it. I decided on making sweet and spicy pecans and incorporating them in. This recipe has a few steps to it but in the end this was my dad’s favorite out of the three.

Ingredients for Sweet and Spicy Pecans: (enough for this recipe)

1/3 Cup chopped pecans or pecan pieces

1 Tablespoon light brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 Tablespoon unsalted butter, room temperature

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Mix all ingredients, using your fingers, in a small bowl. Spread flat onto baking sheet keeping them close together.

Bake for 6-8 minutes, until edges become crispy.

Allow to cool to room temperature.

Ingredients for Sweet and Spicy Chicken Salad (I made one chicken worth)

1 cooked unseasoned chicken breast, shredded (about 1 1/2 Cups)

1/3 Cup sweet and spicy pecans

1 teaspoon honey

1/2 Cup (give or take) seasoned mayo

In a bowl combine all ingredients. I say give or take on the seasoned mayo depending on your preferences.

Serve on a sandwich or with crackers for dipping.

ENJOY!!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

