Wee Vanilla Scones

Standard

I have attempted at scones once before and I was not completely thrilled about them. I decided it was time to try again but scratch my old recipe and start new. These Wee Vanilla Scones came out perfect. They kept a soft texture and melt in my mouth. This is a very simple recipe and uses simple ingredients. I wanted to add more flavor to them so I used different extracts to the glaze to add extra flavor. You can use any of your favorite extracts. I used a simple vanilla, raspberry, and almond. Since they all looked the same, it was a bit of a mystery on what flavor you were going to get. A wee bit of a surprise when you bit into the scone. 🙂

Ingredients: (makes 20 wee scones)

2 Cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 Cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1/3 Cup sugar

2 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 Cup milk

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Add baking powder, salt, and vanilla. Slowly add flour alternating it with milk.

Lightly flour surface and divide dough into 5 equal size balls.

Form each ball into a square about 1/2 inch in thickness.

Cut into 4 triangles.

Bake for 10-12 minutes until lightly golden.

Allow to cool then drizzle with glaze.

Glazes

Vanilla Glaze – Mix together 1/2 Cup powdered sugar, drop of vanilla, and a splash of milk. Add more powdered sugar or milk to thicken or thin.

Almond Glaze– Mix together 1/2 Cup powdered sugar, drop of almond extract, and a splash of milk. Add more powdered sugar or milk to thicken or thin.

Raspberry Glaze– Mix together 1/2 Cup powdered sugar, drop of raspberry extract, and a splash of milk. Add more powdered sugar or milk to thicken or thin.

Enjoy!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Wee Chocolate Chip Scones « Tastefully Scrumptious

  2. Pingback: Wee Butterscotch Scones « Tastefully Scrumptious

  3. Pingback: Wee Peanut Butter Chip Scones « Tastefully Scrumptious

  4. Pingback: Wee Almond Vanilla Scones « Tastefully Scrumptious

  5. Pingback: Wee Snickers Vanilla Scones « Tastefully Scrumptious

Leave a Reply

