Roasted Artichoke

Standard

I was introduced to Roasted Artichoke when I went with my best friend Mary to this amazing restaurant downtown Chicago called Bandera. I have to give her a million thanks and blame her for my new love of artichokes. I have seen artichokes before and thought they looked too confusing to eat let alone cook with. But after this experience and now that artichokes are on sale at the grocery store (since they are a bit pricey), I can not stop cooking them! This simple recipe uses only 5 ingredients and the finished product looks as if you are at a 5 star restaurant. šŸ™‚

One thing you need to know is how to actually eat an artichoke. Well this recipe will not only tell you how to cook one but also to deconstruct it so you can get all the deliciousness from it.

Ingredients: (2 artichokes)

2 artichokes

extra virgin olive oil

salt

1 lemon

4 cloves of garlic

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

First you need to prepare you artichokes. We are going to cut off the top and the stem of the artichoke. Cut off the top to where you can see all those layers. To make a pretty presentation you can cut the tips of the leaves so they are flat. (The farthest one I did not cut)

Next we want to add the garlic to each artichoke. I put 2 cloves, each cut in half, into each artichoke. Tuck them in the center layers.

Place artichoke on a piece of foil, large enough to wrap it up later. Drizzle artichoke and foil with EVOO and sprinkle with salt. I use maybe 2-3 Tablespoons per artichoke of EVOO and about 2-3 teaspoons of salt.

Next squeeze 1/2 a lemon on each artichoke.

Wrap foil around artichoke.

Bake for 50 minutes. Artichoke will be tender.

Now time to eat!!

How to eat an Artichoke

1. Eat the ends of the leaves… with your teeth šŸ™‚ Using your teeth scrap the meat off the ends of the leaves. Make a discard pile of your leaves.

2. Once you have devoured the leaves, it is time for the choke. After you have removed all the leaves, even those little bitty ones, you will find the next layer which is the hair as I like to call it. Using a spoon, scoop out all the little hairs. They should come out easily.

3. Now the delicious part! Remove any stem that is attached to the bottom and it is ready to eat.

4. This part of the artichoke is my favorite part. It is like the reward after peeling all those leaves off. šŸ™‚

ENJOY!!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

