Eggplant Salsa with Homemade Chips

Standard

I have never worked with eggplant before but I have always been intrigued by them. I went online and googled images of eggplant recipes and came across several options like lasagna, grilled eggplant, sautéed eggplant, dips, and the list went on. I decided on making a salsa with all my favorite veggies and attempt to incorporate eggplant into it. My dad and mom absolutely loved it! The flavors were amazing and the eggplant added a bit of surprise to it. Definitely unexpected.

You can serve them with pita chips, tortilla chips, or even fresh veggies like cucumber, carrots, or celery. This would be a great dish to serve at a party because of its uniqueness. I was going to go ahead and buy chips but decided to make it a little healthier and made my own chips. The recipe will be at the bottom and they are super simple and can be whipped up in a jiffy.

Ingredients:

1 medium eggplant, peeled and chopped

2 Tablespoons EVOO

1/2 of a medium onion, chopped

1/2 red bell pepper, chopped

1/2 green bell pepper, chopped

1 jalapeño, seeded and chopped

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper

4 cloves of garlic, minced

1 can (14 oz) diced tomatoes, drained

1 teaspoon white wine vinegar

1 Tablespoon dried basil

1 Tablespoon dried parsley flakes

1 Tablespoon Parmesan cheese

 

In a medium pan, heat EVOO on medium heat.

Chop eggplant, onion, red pepper, green pepper, and jalapeño. Add to pan, along with salt and pepper, and sauté for 10 minutes until tender.

Add garlic and canned tomatoes. Cook for 5 minutes.

Remove from heat and allow to cool for about 10 minutes. Add vinegar, seasonings, and cheese.

Refrigerate until chilled. Serve with chips.

Homemade Chips

3 small flour tortillas

EVOO

salt and pepper

Cut tortillas into triangles. Lay out on a baking sheet and drizzle with EVOO. Season with salt and pepper (As much as your taste buds like). Toss around to coat tortilla and lay out.

Bake for 5-7 minutes at 350 degrees until nice and golden. Be care because they cook fast!

ENJOY!!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

