German Chocolate Bars

Standard

I made these bars last year for one of the students birthday. I asked her what she wanted and she said a German Chocolate Cake. I decided to improvise and turned ingredients from the cake into a simple bar. These German Chocolate Bars are as decadent and rich as if you were eating a slice of German Chocolate Cake.

Many people assume because it is called German Chocolate Cake that it originated in Germany. Actually, it is not German at all. It is traced back to an American named Sam German who developed a certain type of dark chocolate which soon was introduced by the Baker’s Chocolate Company as German Chocolate.

The first time I made this bar I added pecans but this time I did not. So pecans are optional.

Ingredients: (makes a 9 x 13 pan)

1 package of German Chocolate Cake Mix

1/2 Cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 can (14oz) sweetened condensed milk

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/3 Cup sweetened coconut

1/2 Cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/2 Cup white chocolate chips

1 Cup pecan pieces (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 9 x 13 inch pan with foil and spray with cooking spray.

Mix by hand cake mix, butter, and lightly beaten egg until dough forms. Flatten into bottom of pan.

In a small bowl, stir together condensed milk, egg, and vanilla.

Add coconut, chips, and pecans.

Pour over top of cake layer and spread evenly.

Bake for 25-30 minutes until edges are slightly golden.

Cool and cut into bars. They are the best when they are refrigerated. 🙂 Enjoy!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

