Kapusta–Polish Dish

Standard

My dad has begged me to make Kapusta that my Auntie Sandy use to make when we lived up in Chicago. My Auntie sent me the recipe and it was finally time to make an all time favorite family recipe. Kapusta is a polish dish that is another word for cabbage. It is mainly used as a side dish to add flavors in which other foods contrast. After my dad took the first bite he was in heaven. He said now I can make it during the holidays and even in the summer as a side dish when he makes a polish sausage on the grill. My grandpa, Papa, used to like to eat this with boiled, salted potatoes sprinkled with chives.

Ingredients:

32 ounces sauerkraut

1 pound Polska Kielbasa Skinless

2/3 Cup water

7 slices of bacon (should not be flavored; I used smoked bacon)

1 small onion, chopped (about 1 Cup)

1/2 Cup brown sugar

Drain and rinse sauerkraut for 4 minutes under cold water. Transfer to a medium sauce pan and cover with water.

Bring to a boil and then continue boiling for 25 minutes. Sauerkraut will become soft.

While sauerkraut is boiling, in a large deep skillet (you will need one large enough to end up holding all the ingredients) bring 2/3 Cup water to a boil. Add polish kielbasa and cover. Allow to simmer for 10 minutes. **I followed the directions on the package of the kielbasa for that part so if yours is different follow the package directions**

Remove kielbasa from skillet and reserve water in a cup to add later. There should be about 1/4 Cup.

Cut bacon into slices and add to the skillet. Cook until brown and add chopped onion. Allow onions to become slightly soft.

Add brown sugar and reserved kielbasa water. Stir until combined and scrap bottom to get all the rendered bacon juices.

Slice polska kielbasa into thin angled slices and add to skillet. Toss around to coat and bring mixture to a simmer.

Drain sauerkraut and reserve 1/2 Cup of liquid. Add sauerkraut and reserved liquid to skillet. Allow flavors to marry.

ENJOY!!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

