Graham Cracker Cupcake with Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting

Standard

I decided to go through my cabinets and see what ingredients I had to bake into something scrumptious. I immediately saw my graham crackers and marshmallows and remembered what a hit my S’Mores Cookies were that I was determined to make a Cupcake with these ingredients. I am not calling this a S’Mores Cupcake because I decided not to add chocolate to it. So I kept it simple. I had never worked with marshmallows in a frosting before so I was a little skeptical if it would even turn out. When I think of marshmallows I think of ooey gooey mess. Surprisingly this frosting was very simple and turned out perfect for this cupcake. It couldn’t have been any better.

Ingredients: (makes 24 cupcakes)

1 1/2 Cups All-Purpose Flour

3/4 Cup sugar

3/4 Cup brown sugar, packed

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 Cup crushed graham crackers (I used honey graham crackers)

1 Cup milk

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 Cup vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cupcake pan with cupcake liners.

In a large bowl combine with a whisk flour, sugar, brown sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and graham cracker. Make sure everything is completely combined. Set bowl aside.

In your mixer bowl, blend together milk, eggs, vanilla, and oil until pale yellow.

Slowly add dry ingredients and blend until completely combined. Batter will be slightly gooey and not as thick as you would expect a cake batter to be.

Using my cookie scooper, I scooped 1 1/2 scoops into each cupcake liner. I would say about 1 1/2 tablespoons. It should fill up half way.

Bake for 15 minutes. Tops should be slightly firm to touch and bounce back as well as golden brown. Cool on a wire rack.

Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting (I ended up having about a cup left over. I like to freeze my leftovers. You can cut the recipe in half if you do not want to save any)

3 Cups miniature marshmallows

1/3 Cup milk

1/2 Cup unsalted butter, room temperature

3 Cups powdered sugar

In a medium sauce pan, combine marshmallows and milk.

Stir constantly on low/medium heat until melted and smooth.

Allow to cool about 25-30 minutes until room temperature. You do not want it to be warm, otherwise it will melt the butter once added.

Cut butter into chunks. In your mixing bowl add cooled marshmallow and slowly blend in chunks of butter. Add powdered sugar slowly. Frosting will have a sticky aspect to in since we are using marshmallows. You want to make sure it has some firmness to its texture to prevent the frosting from running off the cupcake. Add more powdered sugar if necessary.

Frost completely cooled cupcakes with a small glob of frosting. It will slowly spread over the cupcake so be careful not to use too much. A small amount will go a long way.

ENJOY!!!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

