Maple Chicken with Pear and Green Pepper Rice Pilaf

Standard

I was trying to add to my chicken recipes. I went to the store today and literally stood by all the produce to try to pick out which one to use in my dish. Pears it was. Then everything just fell into place. Green peppers caught my eye. I thought brown rice would add texture. And maple syrup would add the perfect glaze to the chicken.

The maple syrup does seem a little weird but it made for the perfect glaze. I added pepper to give it some kick so it was not super sweet.

Ingredients:

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

1/2 Cup maple syrup, divided

salt and pepper

4 Cups water, divided

1 Cup brown rice

1 Tablespoon olive oil

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 Cup chopped green pepper

1 1/2 Cup chopped Bartlett pear

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

First let’s get the chicken marinated. Place chicken in a bowl. I like to pierce each piece a few times with a fork to help marinade. Add 1/4 Cup of maple syrup to the bowl. Toss chicken until coated. Cover and place in refrigerator until ready to use.

Chop pears and green peppers and set aside until ready to use.

The next step is the rice which takes about 50 minutes. When you get to the 30 minute mark you will want to put your chicken in the oven. To do this spray a baking sheet with cooking spray. Sprinkle both sides of chicken with salt and pepper. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until 165 degrees. Flip chicken halfway through. When there are about 8 minutes left brush the tops of the chicken with 1 Tablespoon of maple syrup and continue baking.

Rice process (the way I like it): In a medium sauce pan combine rice, 2 Cups water, olive oil, and garlic powder. Set your timer for 50 minutes. Cover and bring to a boil. Once at a boil, reduce to a simmer. This is a timely dish. Always stir occasionally. Once it hits the 30 minute mark the rice will have started sticking a bit to the bottom. Add 1 Cup water and allow to continue to cook. Stir occasionally. At the 18 minute mark add another 1 Cup water and allow to continue to cook. At the 10 minute mark remove lid and allow to cook out any remaining liquid. Stir constantly. You do not want it to stick to the bottom. At the 5 minute mark add pears and green peppers. Recover and turn stove to low for the remaining time.

At this point your chicken should be just about done. They should have a nice glazed look to them.

Serve with the pear and green pepper rice pilaf immediately.

ENJOY!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

