Slow Cooked Pot Roast

Standard

I recently went to my friend’s house and her mom made this amazing pot roast. I think ever since then, I have dreamed of pot roast that literally just falls apart when you touch it. So I decided for my dad’s birthday dinner to try out a pot roast recipe. I called up my friends mom and she told me how she made it. I was excited at how easy the recipe sounded. It had three simple ingredients. Roast, seasoning packet, and water.

I added beef broth as well as water to add some more flavor and I ended up using a different packet of seasoning because the grocery store did not have the brand my friend’s mom used. The roast turned out amazing! It was juicy, tender, and fell apart where I barely even had to use a knife.

Ingredients:

2 lbs – 3 lbs of your favorite roast (I used a top round- my mom loves eye of the round)

1 slow cooked pot roast seasoning packet (I used Louise Seasoning Italian Beef Au Jus Seasoning from Meijers)

1 can (10.5 oz) beef broth

water (enough to cover)

Get out your slow cooker/ crock pot pour in your can of beef broth. Add seasoning packet and stir until completely dissolved. Place roast in pot and pour water in until roast is covered.

Turn crock pot on high and cook for 7-8 hours. Depending on how large your crock pot is will vary the cooking time. When it gets close to 6 hours check roast by using a fork to see if it starts to pull away. It was a little after 7 hours to where I could easily pull the meat apart with the touch of a fork.

Use the juice (Au Jus) to serve with the roast for dipping.

ENJOY!!!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

