Mini Pumpkin Pie Tarts

Standard

It is Pumpkin Pie season and I knew I would have to incorporate some type of Pumpkin Pie recipe into my blog. I decided to make Mini Pumpkin Pie Tarts in place of a normal pie. I wanted to bring these into work and having to slice up pie could end up messy. I figured these mini tarts would be perfect as they are tiny and perfect to grab on the go. I made them using a mini muffin/ cupcake pan but if you want to make them a little larger, a regular size muffin/ cupcake pan would be perfect.

Every year my mom makes a pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving by using the recipe on the back of the pumpkin can. It is delicious using that recipe but of course I wanted to make my version. I pulled some ingredients from my cabinets and went to work. After each ingredient I did a little taste and determined what ingredient I could add. In the end, these little tarts were packed with pumpkin pie flavor. One of my co-workers tried one and told me they were not a huge fan of pumpkin pie but these were amazing.

Ingredients: (makes about 30 mini tarts)

Tart Crust:

1 3/4 Cups All-purpose flour

1/4 Cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 Cup unsalted butter, cold and cut into cubes

1/4 Cup – 1/2 Cup Ice Water

Using a food processor, pulse together flour, sugar, and salt. Add cold butter.

Process until mixture looks like grated Parmesan cheese.

While processor is running, slowly add between 1/4 Cup and 1/2 Cup of ice water until mixture starts to form together.

Form dough into ball and wrap in seran wrap. Refrigerate while preparing pumpkin pie filling.

Pumpkin Pie Filling:

1 Cup Canned Pumpkin

1/2 Cup evaporated milk

1 egg, lightly beaten

1/2 Cup light brown sugar, NOT packed

3 Tablespoons Lite Maple Syrup

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

1/4 teaspoon salt

Combine all ingredients in a bowl until smooth.

Assembly:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray cupcake pans with cooking spray.

To make the tart cups, roll ball of dough into a thin layer about an 1/8 inch. You want it to be thin. Cut out circles using a cutter that is larger than the size of your cupcake cup. I used a glass as you can see in the picture. I then stretched my cut out a bit to fit in the cupcake cup. It all depends on the size you cut it out. In the end you want to form a cup to fill.

Using a fork pierce the bottoms of the tart cups to prevent rising in the oven. Bake at 350 degrees for 4 minutes.

Remove from oven and ladle enough pumpkin pie filling into each cup where it is right to the edge.

Increase oven to 375 degrees. Bake for 15 minutes.

Remove and allow to cool completely. Serve at room temperature or chilled. Top with whipped cream for extra sweetness.

ENJOY!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Mini English Custard Tarts « Tastefully Scrumptious

Leave a Reply

