Chewy Butterscotch Oatmeal Cookies

Standard

If there is one thing I learned about cookies, is you never want them to be hard. After experimenting with several cookie recipes, I have figured out the perfect way to bake a cookie for it to be soft and chewy. Those are essentials to what makes a cookie perfect. When working with oatmeal cookies especially, you have to be careful not to over-bake them, as the oats absorb a lot of moisture from the cookie.

When I think of butterscotch, I think of topping my sundae with warm butterscotch sauce. I decided to pack one of my chewy oatmeal cookies with butterscotch morsels and the result was scrumptious. My dad absolutely loves these cookies and my grandma, Mam-Mam, is a big fan of butterscotch, so I can not wait to mail her some of these treats.

Ingredients: (makes about 25 cookies)

1/2 Cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 Cup brown sugar, packed

1/4 Cup sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 Cup plus 2 Tablespoons All-Purpose flour

1 1/2 Cup Rolled Oats

3/4 Cup butterscotch chips

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

In you stand mixer, cream together butter, brown sugar, and sugar. Add egg and vanilla and blend until smooth. Add cinnamon, baking soda, and salt.

In a separate bowl stir together flour and oats. Add gradually to butter mixture. Blend until everything is incorporated.

By hand, stir butterscotch chips into dough.

Drop cookies.

Bake for 12 minutes. They will not look done but that is what makes them soft and chewy. You do not want to over-bake them.

ENJOY!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

