Almond Crescents

Standard

I love cookies that are different in shape than the normal round cookie. These cute little crescents are packed with almond crunch and dusted with powder sugar to give them a hint of sweetness. These cookies are not packed with sugar like your average cookies. Instead they are full of almond flavor and butter that makes them melt in your mouth. I like to compare them to my Pecan Puffs, as they have the same texture.

Ingredients: (makes 24)

1/2 Cup raw almonds, chopped

1 Cup All-Purpose Flour

1 stick unsalted butter, chilled and cut into cubes

2 Tablespoons sugar

1 egg yolk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 Tablespoons milk

powdered sugar for dusting

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

Sift flour into a large bowl. Add chilled butter cubes. Using your fingers blend butter into the flour until mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs.

Stir in chopped almonds and sugar.

Mix yolk and vanilla in a small bowl and mix into dry ingredients. Add milk and stir by hand until mixture is a soft dough.

Lightly knead on flour surface, wrap in plastic, and chill for 20 minutes.

After dough has chilled, pull of about a tablespoon of dough and roll into a crescent shape.

Bake for 15 minutes until lightly golden. Immediately dredge with powder sugar after you take them out of the oven.

ENJOY!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

