Rocky Road Tart Cups

Standard

I had this craving for Rocky Road Ice Cream tonight. It is one of my favorite ice creams. I remember always going to Baskin Robbins and would get a double scoop of Rocky Road and Jamoca Almond Fudge. Anything with chocolate and almonds I loved. I contemplated on making a Rocky Road cookie but I did not know how well the marshmallows would do in the cookie, so I thought of maybe a chocolate bark with almonds and marshmallows. But I did not want a chunk of chocolate. That brought me to a tart. Tarts, for the most part, are filled with cream cheese or fruit. I decided why not make a chocolate filled tart. So that is what I did. 🙂 A graham cracker tart filled with a chocolate ganache and my favorite rocky road ingredients.

Tart Crust: (makes 10 Cupcake size)

1 Cup Honey Graham crackers, crumbs

6 Tablespoons, unsalted butter, melted

2 Tablespoons sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray cupcake pan with cooking spray.

In a bowl combine graham crackers and sugar. Add butter and stir until all coated and it starts to clump together.

Spoon about 1 1/2 heaping Tablespoons into Cupcake cups. Using your fingers, press graham crackers into a bowl shape. Make sure you press along the sides to form the side of the tart cup.

Bake for 5 minutes. Allow to completely cool. Gently turn over and tap bottom of pan to let tart cups loose. Refrigerate tart cups to help set until ready to fill.

Ganache Filling:

5 ounces bittersweet chocolate, melted

7 ounces heavy whipping cream

1 egg yolk

In a sauce pan, bring cream to a simmer. Mix a small amount of warm cream with egg. Repeat several times (about 1/4 Cup) until the egg is tempered. Add egg to cream and stir.

Add melted chocolate and stir until chocolate is completely incorporated. This will take some time. Chocolate should become dark.

Assembly of Tart Cups:

Add desired amount of chopped almonds and marshmallow to each tart cup. Ladle ganache into each cup. Some may spill over, which is fine. Top with more chopped almonds.

Refrigerate until ganache sets and store in refrigerator for up to 3 days.

ENJOY!!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

