Apple Chicken with a Honey Mustard Sauce

Standard

Tonight was a special dinner night because I had a very special guest. My best friend BB from Turkey is in town visiting and I wanted to cook her one of my delicious dinners especially for her. Fall is in the air so I decided to incorporate my favorite fall drink into the dish. When I finally have my first drink of apple cider is when I then realize it truly is fall. My Apple Chicken with a Honey Mustard Sauce is a very simple recipe that is perfect for fall. I cook the chicken over the stove allowing it to simmer in the Honey Mustard Sauce making the chicken juicy and full of flavor. This is a recipe that takes about 30-40 minutes to cook.

Ingredients: (serves 4)

4 boneless skin-less chicken breasts

2 small unpeeled apples or 1 large apple, cut into 1/4 inch pieces

1/2 Cup celery, chopped

1/2 Cup Apple Cider

1 1/2 teaspoon cornstarch

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

2 Tablespoons honey

1 Tablespoon honey mustard

1/4 Cup or so flour, for coating chicken

2 Tablespoons olive oil

1/2 Cup chicken broth

Whisk together cider, cornstarch, salt, pepper, honey, and mustard. Set aside.

Heat deep skillet and add olive oil. Dredge chicken in flour and shake off excess.

Once skillet it hot, add chicken. Brown for 4 minutes on medium heat. Turn over chicken and add apples and celery. Cook until brown.

Pour cider mixture over chicken. Cover and cook on medium heat. Allow it to simmer for 20 minutes. Flip chicken halfway through. Temp chicken and make sure it is at 165 degrees.

Plate chicken and top with apples and sauce. Pair with Apple Cider Salad.

Enjoy!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

