Slow Cooked Honey Glazed Chicken

Standard

Honey Glazed Chicken sounded perfect to make this weekend. I normally cook my chicken in the oven but this time I decided I wanted to try something a little different. I wanted to slow cook it in my crock pot. The chicken absorbed all the sweet flavors and every piece was juicy and tender. Since we are slow cooking the chicken this recipe takes about 2 – 2 1/2 hours to make. So make sure if you are planning this recipe according to your schedule. I actually made this at night and then re-heated it in the crock pot the next day for dinner. It came out amazing!

I used 6 boneless skinless chicken breasts for this recipe. If you plan on only making with less than 6 chickens then cut the liquid ingredients down.

Ingredients: (makes 6 chickens diced)

6 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cleaned

salt and pepper to season chicken

1 1/2 Cups Honey

1/2 Cup low sodium soy sauce

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

2 Tablespoons ketchup

3 Tablespoons vegetable oil

1 Tablespoon Garlic Powder

1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

Season both sides of the chicken and place in crock pot.

In a bowl combine all remaining ingredients. Pour over chicken. Turn crock pot on High and cook for 1 1/2 hours.

Turn chicken occasionally during the 1 1/2 hours.

Remove chicken after 1 1/2 hours and cut into bite sized pieces. Return pieces to the crock pot and toss in sauce. Cook for 30-40 minutes longer.

I served my chicken with white rice.

*** When making white rice, to add flavor cook rice in chicken broth instead of water.

ENJOY!!!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

