Roasted Tomato Sauce

Standard

Tonight I was in the mood for spaghetti and decided it was about time I came up with my own pasta sauce. I did a bit of research of different recipes. After an hour of reading, I felt I could produce a tomato sauce with some unique flavors. My roasted tomato sauce has a bit of a kick to it. If you do not like spicy foods you can eliminate the jalapenos or cut the amount down. I used all fresh vegetables which I believe is what made the flavors so pronounced. I seasoned to taste, which means when you make this recipe you might add more salt or pepper to it than I did and that is perfectly fine. 🙂

Ingredients: (makes about 6 Cups of sauce)

12 Roma Tomatoes, halved

1 large Tomato, quartered

1 med-large Red Onion, peeled and cut into chunks

4 medium green peppers (or 2 large), seeded and cut into chunks

5 jalapenos, halved

6 garlic cloves, peeled and left whole

3 Carrots, peeled and cut into 3/4 inch chunks

1/3 Cup EVOO

2 teaspoon dried oregano

2 teaspoons dried basil

1 Tablespoon Italian seasoning

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

I used two baking sheets and divided the veggies between each tray. Drizzle with EVOO and use your hands to toss veggies until coated. Make sure all the tomatoes insides are facing up.

Roast for 50 minutes. If you are using one oven with two racks, halfway through rotate baking sheets from top to bottom to insure even roasting.

Once veggies are finished roasting, allow to cool for 15 minutes. Transfer to food processor. Add all seasonings and slowly add about 1/4 cup of EVOO while motor is running. Blend until everything is incorporated and smooth.

Once sauce is processed, transfer to medium sauce pan and place over low heat. Bring to a simmer and serve with your favorite pasta! ENJOY!!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

