Kristie’s Famous Sugar Cookies

Standard

I think that my sugar cookie recipe is probably one of my favorite cookies to make and eat. They have that soft and buttery texture to them. If I eat too many at once, sometimes my teeth start to hurt. To me, that is what makes a sugar cookie the best! 🙂 The best part of making sugar cookies is you can shape them into anything you want. Since fall is coming I decided on pumpkins and candy corn. Hopefully once you try this recipe you will be making them for every holiday and occasion throughout the year.

Ingredients: (makes around 40 cookies but it all depends on the size of the cookie cutter you use)

1 Cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1 Cup sugar

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 Cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

water

Buttercream frosting (recipe follows)

food coloring and decorations

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl sift together flour and baking powder. Set aside.

Cream together butter and sugar for 3 minutes. Add egg and vanilla and mix for 2 minutes or until fluffy.

Slowly add flour mixture. If you are having a hard time getting all the flour to combine slowly add a Tablespoon of water at a time until dough forms together. I tend to put about 1/4 Cup into the mixture by the end. You do not want your dough to be dry because then the cookies will crumble. The dough should be easy to shape and hold together well.

On a floured surface roll dough out into 1/4 inch thickness. Cut cookies using your favorite cookie cutters. As long as the cookies are all the same thickness, they will cook evenly.

Bake for 7-9 minutes. The cookies should be slightly firm on top. You do not want to over cook them.

Cool and frost and decorate. If you plan on just using sprinkles on the cookies and no frosting, make sure you sprinkle cookies before baking. If you sprinkle after they are cooked, the sprinkles will fall off.

Kristie’s Famous Buttercream Frosting

3 3/4 Cup powdered sugar

1/2 Cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1 teaspoon vanilla

3-4 Tablespoons milk

Combine all ingredients until fluffy. Blend for about 3 minutes.

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

