Sweet Mini Cinnamon Rolls

Standard

I have attempted a few times making cinnamon rolls and each time I am not really impressed with the outcome. Finally, I made the perfect cinnamon roll. My brother has said they are the best cinnamon rolls he has ever had. When my dad and mom finally tasted them they thought the same thing. They were a hit! The best thing about these cinnamon rolls is you can freeze them and they still end up tasting scrumptious! Since my brother is away at Law School, I wanted to make him a bunch so he could always have something sweet on hand. He is already requesting more! My sister is asking for me to send her some too. 🙂

Although this recipe takes time to make, you have the option of either baking them immediately or freezing them for later use. I used my favorite buttercream frosting as the icing. You can freeze the buttercream frosting and use it later as well.

Ingredients: (makes 14 mini rolls)

1 Cup milk

1/4 Cup vegetable oil

1/4 Cup sugar

1 teaspoon active dry yeast

2 Cups plus 1/4 Cup All-purpose flour (1/4 Cup will be used in the second step)

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 stick unsalted butter, melted

1/4 Cup sugar

generous amount of cinnamon

Buttercream Frosting (recipe follows)

In a sauce pan mix milk, oil, and sugar. Scald until just before boiling point (mixture will start to foam). Remove from heat and let sit for 45 minutes. Once lukewarm, add active dry yeast and let sit for 1 minute.

Transfer to mixing bowl. Add 2 Cups flour and with dough hook, knead for a few minutes. Scrap side to make sure all flour is incorporated. Dough will be sticky. Scrap dough from sides, cover bowl with a towel, and let dough sit for 1 hour.

After an hour, add 1/4 Cup flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Place back on the mixer and using the dough hook. Knead until a nice ball forms.

Flour the surface you are going to use and gentle roll out dough into a thin rectangle. The dough will tend to spring back but just use light force to stretch it out, making sure not to rip it.

Once you have formed an even rectangle, pour melted butter on dough and spread out. Generously sprinkle sugar and cinnamon to completely cover dough. You want to form a tight roll, careful not to rip it, and then cut into 1 inch rolls using a knife.

Now that you have formed the cinnamon rolls, transfer them to a parchment lined baking sheet. Either freeze them or bake them. For the freezing process, put whole tray into freezer. Once rolls have become frozen transfer them into a Ziploc container and place back into freezer.

Baking Instructions for Immediate use- Line baking sheet with parchment paper to prevent the bottoms from burning. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bake for 7-9 minutes. The internal temperature of cinnamon roll should be 165 degrees. Coat with icing.

Baking Instructions for Frozen Rolls- Line baking sheet with parchment paper to prevent the bottoms from burning. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bake for 12-15 minutes. The internal temperature of cinnamon roll should be 165 degrees. Coat with icing.

Buttercream Frosting Recipe:

1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened

2 Cups powdered sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 T milk

Combine all ingredients until fluffy.

ENJOY!!!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

