Gooey Buttercake

Standard

Gooey Buttercake originated in St. Louis, Missouri. In the 1930’s, a baker accidentally messed up a recipe and this is what it turned out to be. They sold it in the store and it became a hit. This recipe is filled with sugar, butter, and pure gooey texture that will make you either go into a sugar coma or be bouncing off the walls. You can tell from the picture above at what a gooey creation this is. I prefer to keep my buttercake chilled because otherwise it can be quite the mess to eat. If you are in need of a major sugar fix this is the perfect recipe for you. ENJOY!

Ingredients: (makes a 13 x 9 inch pan)

1 1/2 Cups Sugar

2 1/2 Cups all-purpose flour 2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 stick unsalted butter, melted

1 egg

1/4 Cup milk

8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 stick unsalted butter, melted

3 Cups powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 13 x 9 inch pan with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, whisk together sugar, flour, baking powder, and salt (first 4 ingredients).

Add melted butter and egg and mix together. Mixture will be very crumbly.

Add milk and stir until everything is moistened. Mixture will be crumbly.

Pour mixture into greases pan. Press mixture down into an even layer.

Now it is time to make the filling. Beat cream cheese with an electric mixer until fluffy. Add one egg at a time. Add vanilla and slowly add melted butter. Add 1 Cup of powdered at a time and blend until smooth.Pour over Crumb mixture and smooth out.

Bake for 30-35 minutes until golden brown. It will bubble while in the oven. Let cool completely and cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

