Zucchini Cookies with a Lemon Glaze

Standard

I love zucchini and  I am always looking for new recipes to incorporate zucchini in them. I decided to make these cakey bites of cookie deliciousness. The cookie’s zucchini flavor is subtle and sweet and the infused lemon flavor adds a nice fresh taste. I top it with a lemon glaze which is completely optional but I think it makes the cookie look so delectable.

Ingredients (makes 20 cookies):

1/2 Cup unsalted butter, softened

1 Cup Sugar

1 egg

1 heaping Cup shredded zucchini

zest of 1 medium size lemon (around 1 heaping teaspoon of zest)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 Cups All-Purpose Flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 Cup Raisins (If not raisins you can use cranberries or nuts)

Lemon Glaze (recipe follows)

Preheat oven to 375. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

Cream butter and sugar together for 2 minutes until fluffy. Beat in egg, zucchini, lemon zest, and vanilla.

In a separate bowl sift together dry ingredients. Stir by hand dry ingredients into wet mix. Fold in raisins. Cookie dough will be sticky.

Drop 1 1/2 Tablespoon size cookies onto the parchment paper. I use two spoons to scoop them onto sheets. I only put 6 cookies per tray to prevent touching during baking.

Let cool and drizzle with Lemon Glaze. Store in airtight container to keep moist and fresh.

Lemon Glaze Recipe

2/3 Cup sifted powdered sugar

2 Tablespoons fresh lemon juice or bottled lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Stir all ingredients together until nice and smooth.

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

