Roasted Turnip and Rutabaga & Roasted Asparagus

Standard

My first side dish tonight was my Roasted Turnip and Rutabaga. My mom always makes rutabaga during Thanksgiving since it is one of her favorite side dishes. It was also one of my grandpa Pap-Pap’s favorite side dishes. She always prepared them into smashed rutabaga. Tonight I decided to change it up a bit and add a few more veggies to the mix and roast them until perfectly crispy.

I thought I give you a little lesson on what exactly rutabaga and turnips are. I am sure everyone has heard the word turnip thrown around now and then, so I will be brief on them. Turnips remind me of a bitter potato. Some say it is a cross between a potato and a carrot or radish. When you use them you are going to want to cut off the waxy skin. Rutabaga, I think, is very similar to potatoes. They are very commonly used in England by boiling and mashing them. They have a bitter taste to them but not as bitter as a turnip. Many times rutabaga is combined with potatoes to add color to the dish. The skin of the rutabaga is waxy like a turnip and must be cut off when prepared. I do think both turnip and rutabaga are tastes one acquires too.

My second dish tonight was Roasted Asparagus. I absolutely love asparagus and like to cook with it as much as possible. It is more on the pricey side but it is a vegetable I have recently fallen in love with. Since I was making steak tonight, I thought asparagus would be perfect. I roasted the asparagus and tossed them in a balsamic butter to add more flavor.

Ingredients for Roasted Turnip and Rutabaga

1 Rutabaga, peeled and cut into cubes

2 Turnips, peeled and cut into cubes

2 Red Potatoes, cut into cubes

3 Tablespoons Olive Oil

1 teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon pepper

½ teaspoon dried rosemary

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Cut all veggies into cubes all about the same size for even cooking. In a large bowl combine all veggies and the rest of ingredients and toss to coat. Transfer to baking sheet.

Bake for 30 minutes. Toss every 10 minutes to allow crisping to all sides. Cubes should be soft when finished cooking.

Ingredients for Roasted Asparagus

1 bunch Asparagus, cleaned and ends cut off

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

Cooking spray

2 Tablespoons butter

1 Tablespoon soy sauce

1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Spray baking sheet with cooking spray. Lay out asparagus and lightly spray with cooking spray. Sprinkle salt and pepper on asparagus. Bake in oven for 9 minutes or until tender.

In a small sauce pan melt butter. Remove from heat and add soy sauce and balsamic vinegar.

Once asparagus is removed from the oven, pour balsamic butter over asparagus and toss until coated.

ENJOY!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

