Low-Fat Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Standard

I have always loved Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins. They are definitely a down fall of mine during the fall season. Normally I do not start making these muffins until the temperature is a little cooler outside but I asked my friend what dessert they would like me to make them and they said they loved pumpkin and dark chocolate. Of course these muffins came to mind. Trying to be healthy and knowing my friend likes a healthier treat, I decided to make these muffins low in fat. Let me tell you, they turned out amazing! I have never tried a low-fat dessert before and was a little skeptical on how these might turn out. The end result was more than I would have asked for. You cannot even tell these little delightful treats are low-fat, they are that good. They are packed with pumpkin and dark chocolate that keeps you wanting more. Since my friend loved them so much, I just had to share this recipe with everyone. I hope you all enjoy them as much as they did. :0)

What makes those regular pumpkin chocolate chip muffins so high in fat and calories is the use of canola oil and sugar. In order to make this recipe into a low-fat and low-calorie dessert we need to substitute these ingredients. I did not cut sugar completely because we all need a little sugar in our lives. ;0) As for the canola oil, I substituted that with non-fat Greek yogurt and no-sugar added applesauce. These two ingredients add flavor and moisture to the recipe as well as fiber and vitamins. Each muffin has about 130 calories and 2 grams of fat.

Note that in my picture I used cupcake holders. I recommend not using these and just use non-stick spray as for the muffin sticks to the paper on the bottom just a bit. :0)

Ingredients: (makes about 18 muffins)

1 Cup Sugar

1 Cup Canned Pumpkin

¼ Cup unsweetened applesauce

¼ Cup Fat-Free Vanilla Greek Yogurt

2 Large egg whites

1 ½ Cups All-Purpose Flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice

¾ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ Cup dark chocolate chips (you can use semi-sweet chocolate if you want)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray muffin pan with non-stick spray or use silicone muffin trays.

In a large bowl, mix by hand sugar, pumpkin, applesauce, yogurt, and egg whites until completely combined.

In a separate bowl whisk together flour, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, salt, and baking soda.

Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix by hand until everything is incorporated and no lumps are left. Fold in dark chocolate chips.

Scoop 2 Tablespoons worth of batter into each muffin cups. The cups should be about 2/3 full.

Bake for 17-20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

ENJOY!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

