Oreo Cupcakes

Standard

Oreo cookies are one of my favorite cookie and when I was little I could basically devour a whole package in one sitting… or at least half of the package 😉 I was quite the milk drinker so a cookie that went perfect with milk was my kind of cookie. I have made a cupcake where I put a Oreo cookie in the bottom and it was quite delicious but it was not the Oreo cupcake I was looking for. I wanted to some how incorporate that amazing frosting center of the Oreo cookie into my cupcake. I mean that is what makes a oreo cookie so wonderful. I use to eat all the frosting off the cookie and then dunk the cookie part into the milk. 🙂

So I finally put my baking skills to work and assembled a cupcake that combined all the flavors of a Oreo cookie. I used my favorite Chocolate Cupcake, filled the center with that classic Oreo filling, and topped it with a Oreo Cookie Buttercream Frosting. I think my favorite part of this cupcake is definitely the filled center because it taste just like the filling of a Oreo. It is a simple recipe and if you are wondering how many Oreos you are going to have to scrape the frosting off of? None! This recipe makes the perfect flavor of the filling and you can not even tell the difference.

There are three recipes to this cupcake and at the end I will explain how to assemble it.

Ingredients of Chocolate Cupcake (makes 28 cupcakes)

1/2 Cup unsweetened Cocoa Powder

2 Cup All-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

2 Cups sugar

4 ounces dark chocolate, finely chopped (I use Gharadelli 60% Cocoa Chocolate Bar)

1 Cup buttermilk

1 Cup strong brewed hot coffee

1 Cup vegetable oil

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat Oven to 350 degrees. Line cupcake pans with cupcake liners.

Place finely chopped chocolate in a bowl and pour hot coffee over top. Stir until chocolate is melted and set aside.

In a large bowl sift together cocoa, flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and sugar. In a stand mixer, beat eggs for a few minutes until they become pale yellow. Beat in oil, buttermilk, and vanilla on low-speed. Slowly add chocolate mixture. Slowly add flour mixture until just incorporated.

Fill each cupcake liner about 3/4 full. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Allow cupcakes to cool completely before assembling.

Ingredients for Oreo Filling Frosting

1/4 Cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

1/4 Cup vegetable shortening

2 Cups powdered sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Combine all ingredients in a stand mixer. Let it whip for about 2 minutes to make it fluffy.

Put frosting in a piping bag or Ziploc bag and cut a tip large enough for the frosting to be squeezed out easily.

Ingredients for Oreo Cookie Buttercream Frosting

3 sticks unsalted butter, softened

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3 1/ 2 Cups powdered sugar

2 Tablespoons milk

15 Oreo cookies, finely crushed (I used Double Stuffed Oreo because I love the filling)

Using a food processor finely crush all 15 Oreos. In a stand mixer combine all ingredients and whip for about 1 minute to make fluffy.

Put frosting into a piping bag or Ziploc bag and cut a tip off to the size of the swirl you would like to make.

Assembly Time

Once cupcakes are cool it is time to prepare the cupcakes for the filling. For some this may be tricky but do not be afraid. It is really simple. When I started off I used a butter knife and would cut out the centers of the cupcake. This is a good method to use if you do not have another tool but when using a butter knife just make sure you are gentle and not taking out too much cupcake. You can see the size of the hole I make in the following pictures. I finally found a tool that works wonderfully in the hollowing out process. I use the plastic little tube from a pastry tip set. All you need to do is gently turn it while inserting it into the center of the cupcake. The little piece of cake should pop right out.

Now that we have them all hollowed out it is time to pipe in the Oreo Filling Frosting. Squeeze enough to fill each hole.

Now it is time to top the cupcake with that delicious Oreo Cookie Buttercream frosting. Pipe on a swirl of frosting or any design you want. You are the baker… make them your own design. 🙂

Now it is time to bite into that scrumptious cupcake! ENJOY!!

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

One response »

  1. Oh My God!! These look like a taste of Heaven!! It’s nice to look at them and think how good they would be..since I shouldn’t eat them and if I did bake them I would have to eat them all!!

Leave a Reply

