Tiramisu Cupcake

Standard

Tiramisu… need I say more? This is by far my favorite dessert of all time. If a restaurant has it on their dessert menu then there is no doubt in my mind that I am having Tiramisu for dessert. I love the spongy lady fingers that are soaked in an amazing coffee liquid. It is layered just perfectly with a creamy smooth mascarpone filling. Every bite keeps me wanting more! The first time I made tiramisu my friend Heather came over and I am surprised I was even able to finish the dessert. We could not stop eating all the filling! It was definitely a lick the bowl clean after all our baking was done. 🙂

I decided to try to make this amazing dessert into a cupcake. I feel like you can take almost any classic dessert and transform it into a cupcake. I looked at several recipes and got some ideas of how to perfect it. I wanted the cupcake to have a lady finger taste and since we obviously could not form layers, I figured letting the liquid absorb into the cake and adding a dollop of whipped topping on top would make this into the perfect Tiramisu Cupcake.

There are 3 recipes to this dessert and it is a bit time-consuming but it is worth it. 🙂

Cupcake Ingredients: (makes 18 cupcakes)

1 1/4 Cups cake flour

3/4 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

1/4 Cup milk

1 1/2 t vanilla extract

1/2 stick (4 T) unsalted butter, room temperature and cut into chunks

3 whole eggs, room temperature

3 egg yolks, room temperature

1 Cup sugar

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line cupcake pan with cupcake liners.

Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt and set bowl aside. Heat milk and vanilla in a small sauce pan on medium heat until bubbles form along the edge. Remove from heat and stir in butter until melted. Let cool for around 10 minutes.

Using an electric mixer and whisk attachment, whisk together whole eggs, yolks, and sugar on medium speed. You need to create a double boiler using a pot that will fit your mixing bowl where your bowl is not touching the water. Bring water to a simmer and place your mixing bowl on top. Whisk by hand egg mixture until sugar is dissolved and is warm. About 5 minutes. Make sure you are continuously whisking to prevent the eggs from cooking.

Remove bowl from heat and with your electric mixer on high-speed, whisk mixture until it is pale yellow and fluffy. You want it to thicken to where it holds ribbons on the surface. About 6 minutes.

Gently fold in flour mixture in a few batches. After it is all incorporated fold in milk mixture until creamy and smooth.

Scoop about 2 Tablespoons of batter into cupcake liners (about 3/4 full). Bake for 15 minutes rotating pan half way through. Transfer cupcakes to cooling rack.

Coffee Liquid Ingredients:

1/3 Cup hot very strong coffee

1/4 Cup coffee liquor

1/4 Cup sugar

Combine all ingredients and stir until sugar is dissolved. Let cool.

Mascarpone Frosting Ingredients:

1 Cup heavy whipping cream

8 ounces mascarpone cheese, room temperature

1/2 Cup powdered sugar

With an electric mixer whisk cream on medium speed until stiff peaks form. In another bowl whisk together by hand mascarpone cheese and sugar until smooth. Fold in whipped cream until completely incorporated.

Assembly:

Soon after cupcakes are out of the oven, using a fork, pierce cupcakes so the liquid will seep throughout. Using a spoon pour coffee liquid over top and continue until all liquid is used. Let cupcakes continue to cool and sit for about 15-20 minutes for them to absorb all the liquid.

Dollop mascarpone frosting with a cookie scoop and using a spoon lightly spread frosting. Dust with unsweetened cocoa powder.

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

