Mom’s Pecan Puffs

Standard

Another one of my mom’s favorites, this little tiny cookie melts in your mouth. Literally! It is one of the easiest cookie recipes I have and it only has 6 ingredients. I love recipes like that. There is not much sugar in this recipe but once you roll that cookie around in powder sugar, it brings a touch of sweetness to your taste buds. Now that I have your mouth-watering it is time to start baking these pecan filled buttery puffs.

Ingredients: (makes 28 cookies)

2 Cups All-purpose flour

2 Cups chopped pecans

1 Cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

1/4 Cup sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

powder sugar( for rolling purposes)

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

In your stand mixer cream butter, sugar, and vanilla. In a separate bowl combine flour and chopped pecans.

** Make sure the pecans are chopped. If you can not find chopped pecans or if you have some left over whole pecans or pecan pieces, no big deal. Smash them into tiny pieces with a rolling-pin or an easier method would be combining the flour and pecans in a food processor to break down the pecans. Make sure you put both flour and pecans in processor. The flour helps prevent the oils from the pecans to form a paste.

Gradually add flour pecan mixture to butter mixture until completely incorporated. Drop cookies onto a baking sheet. As you can see from my picture you can put a lot on one baking sheet. I put all 28 on one because since they have no leavening agent in the recipe they do not get bigger than what you scoop them at.

Bake for 45 minutes. They will be light brown when finished baking. Once cooled roll around in powder sugar but be gentle because they are fragile and could crumble easily.

Now sit down and indulge in these melt in your mouth cookies.

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Almond Crescents « Tastefully Scrumptious

Leave a Reply

