Doozie Cookies

Standard

I use to go to the mall in Maryland and remember getting these amazing cookie sandwiches. They were my favorite and even now when I see a cookie shop with a cookie sandwich I have to get one. I finally decided to figure out a recipe where I could make one of my favorite types of cookies. After making these cookies it soon became one of my brothers favorite cookies too. Hopefully this delicious chocolate chip and vanilla frosting sandwich will soon be one of your favorites too!

A little bit about this recipe is that it uses margarine instead of butter so do not be mistaken. Also if you noticed there is not salt in this recipe then you are correct. I do not add salt because both the margarine and instant pudding are filled with salt which in my opinion is enough.

A note for all who plan on devouring these scrumptious cookies; they are a bit messy. It is definitely a cookie when you bit into that frosting tends to end up on all your fingers. But no need for a napkin. This is one cookie that is finger licking good!

Ingredients: (makes about 18 cookie sandwiches)

1 cup (2 sticks) margarine, softened

1/4 Cup sugar

3/4 Cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 small box (3.4 ounces) box instant vanilla pudding powder

2 eggs

1 tsp baking soda

2 1/4 Cup All-Purpose flour

1 Cup miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (recipe follows)

Preheat 325 degrees.

In a stand mixer cream margarine and both sugars for 2 minutes. Add vanilla and vanilla pudding powder until incorporated. Add one egg at a time and blend for 2 minutes.

Add baking soda and gradually add flour until everything is incorporated. Add miniature chocolate chips.

Scoop even 1 inch balls onto baking sheet and bake for 12-14 minutes until light brown. You do not want to overcook them otherwise they will be too hard to bite into.

Once cooled add a generous about of frosting and sandwich the cookies together.

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

3 1/2 Cups powder sugar

5 T milk

pinch of salt

1/2 Cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

1 t vanilla

Combine all ingredients with an electric mixer. Blend for a few minutes to make fluffy.

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

