Blackened Tilapia

Standard

I really enjoy fish and I am always trying to find new recipes that sound tasty. I use to only eat fish if it was battered and fried. Then I finally decided to try fish not covered in batter. To my amazement I loved it. I was in the mood for something spicy one night and I had some fish in the freezer…. I know frozen fish is not going to be as good as fresh fish but it was what I had on hand. I search the internet for something spicy and remembered I had a blackened chicken the other night and it was divine. So that is where my blackened tilapia came from. Of course you could use any type of fish really. I love tilapia so I went for it. The flavors were perfect!

I found my recipe on Food Network by Bobby Flay. It is basically the same recipe except I bake mine in the oven instead of on the stove. I hope you all enjoy!

Ingredients:

4 Tilapia Fillets

1/4 C paprika

2 T ground thyme

2 t onion powder

1 t garlic powder

1 t salt

1/4 t cayenne pepper

1 stick melted butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray.

In a bowl large enough to dip the fish in, melt the butter. In another bowl, the same size, combine all dry ingredients.

Dip the fish in the butter and then dip in the seasonings. With your fingers rub the seasonings on the fish to work the flavors in. Place on baking sheet.

Bake for 8 minutes. Flip halfway through. The fish should flake away with a fork.

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

