Chocolate Malt Milkshake Cupcake

Standard

Chocolate Malt Milkshake Cupcakes

I remember growing up and my dad making either chocolate milkshakes or chocolate malt milkshakes. They were quite tasty so I figured I am going to find a recipe that incorporated that malt flavor into a cupcake. And of course it must be chocolate.

This recipe makes 28 cupcakes and 24 mini cupcakes. So if you do not want to make a lot just cut the recipe in half.

Ingredients:

2 ¼ Cups All-Purpose Flour

¾ Cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder

½ Cup sugar

¾ Cup packed brown sugar

1 ½ t baking soda

½ t salt

1 Cup milk

1 ½ Cups Chocolate malted milk powder

1 Cup Vegetable Oil

3 eggs, at room temperature

1 Cup sour cream

1 t vanilla extract

½ Cup chopped Whoppers

Chocolate Malt Coffee Frosting (recipe follows)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare cupcake pans with cupcake liners.

In a large mixing bowl (the one that you attach to your mixer) combine milk and malt powder until powder is dissolved. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, both sugars, cocoa, baking soda, and salt.

On medium speed, beat in flour mixture and oil until combined. Add one egg at a time. Add sour cream and vanilla and blend until everything is just incorporated. Fold in chopped Whoppers.

Fill each cupcake liner about ¾ full. Bake mini cupcakes for 15-20 minutes. Bake regular cupcakes for 20-25 minutes. Toothpick should come out clean.

Let set in pans for 5 minutes then transfer to a cooling rack. When completely cool, frost and top with a whopper.

Chocolate Malt Coffee Frosting

Ingredients:

1 Cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

½ Cup chocolate malt milk powder

2 T unsweetened cocoa powder

¼ Cup espresso ( If you do not have an espresso machine to make this use instant espresso and make ¼ Cup using hot water)

4 Cups powder sugar

With an electric mixer combine all ingredients. Blend at a medium to high-speed for a few minutes to make fluffy. Using a piping bag, pipe design onto cupcake.

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

