Chicken and Dumplings

Standard

I absolutely love chicken noodle soup but I do not really recall ever having chicken and dumpling soup before. I remember in high school my mom making this Chicken and Dumpling sort of dish from a box one time and it was so delicious. I always assumed that is what chicken and dumplings should taste like. Boy was I wrong. I made Chicken and Dumpling Soup last night and WOW! I asked myself why I have never made this before!? Balls of bread like dough soaking in chicken noodle soup. YES PLEASE!

I do not know about you but whenever I have chicken noodle soup I must have some sort of bread or cracker to go with it. Preferably an enormous roll, maybe even a loaf, for dipping pleasure. Being able to basically make a soup where the bread is already incorporated in and soaking up all those flavors made this extremely exciting to try. I hope you all enjoy this recipe as much as I did.

Ingredients: (Makes 4-5 servings)

2 Cups All-Purpose Flour

2 t baking powder

¼ t salt

¼ Cup (1/2 stick) butter, cold

1 Cup buttermilk (possibly a little extra)

1 Cup diced onions

1 Cup diced carrots

1 Cup diced celery

1 Cup frozen sweet peas

2 cloves garlic, minced

48 ounces chicken broth

1 t dried thyme

Salt and pepper to taste

3-4 Cup cooked, shredded chicken (my recipe follows)

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. Cut butter into cubes and add to flour. With your hands you are going to crumble the butter in until it represents a sandy looking mixture. Add buttermilk and with a fork stir to combine. You may have to add a little extra buttermilk if it does not all form together. On a floured surface, knead dough into a ball. You will knead for about one minute. Let this rest back in the bowl.

In a large pot combine onion, carrots, celery, and peas. Cover and let them sweat on medium-high heat for 5-6 minutes. Add garlic and cook for 2 minutes.

Add chicken broth, thyme, salt, pepper, and chicken to pot. Cover and bring to a boil.

After it reaches a boil you will add the dumplings. Pull off small amounts and roll into a ball (about an inch big). Add them to the pot. Recover and cook for 20-30 minutes until dumplings are cooked through.

Shredded chicken recipe:

4 boneless chicken breast (cut off veins and gross pieces)

Salt, pepper, garlic seasoning

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

I have this awesome seasoning that has salt, pepper, and garlic in the one bottle. I use this to season both sides of the chicken. If you do not have one bottle that contains all of those seasonings then just use them separate and sprinkle on both sides of the chicken.

Bake in the oven for 15-18 minutes until internal temperature reaches 165 degrees. Flip halfway through.

After they are slightly cooled, using a fork shred the chicken into decent size pieces for the soup. Set aside until ready to add to pot.

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Carrot Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting « Tastefully Scrumptious

Leave a Reply

