Cherry Cheese Danish Loaf

Standard

Cherry Danish and a Cherry Cheese Danish with a spot of tea on my mom’s ‘Margaret’ Tea Set

A Danish and a spot of tea for breakfast. Definitely a nice way to start the day. This morning I woke up determined to try out a Danish recipe. There have been several I have found that require you to chill the dough or leave it in the refrigerator overnight. I just do not have time for that. I want something quick and simple. I came across this recipe while browsing the web and saw that it required no refrigeration. Sounded perfect to me. There were a couple of ingredients I switched around and made it into my own. The end result was spectacular. I cannot stop nibbling on them!!

I took some pictures of my baking process. I know some recipes, when explaining them; make it sound a bit confusing. I figured this would help ease your way through it. I am like a kid. I need pictures with my story. J

This recipe was intended to make one large Danish loaf but I cut it into two and made two separate flavors. My mom doesn’t like cheese so I made one with just Cherries. If you intend to make this into one loaf then when rolling out your dough it will just be a little bit thicker which might cause the baking time to be a bit longer.

Alternatives: I made this into a Cherry Cheese Danish but the sky’s the limits on what type of filling you want to use. You could do just an Apple filling but buying apple pie filling. Another option would be a chocolate cheese where you add chocolate chips to the cream cheese filling recipe. Try your favorite and let me know what you think.

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

3 tbsp sugar

1/2 cup butter, cold

3-oz cream cheese, cold

3/4 cup milk

1 Can Cherry Pie Filling

Cream Cheese Filling (recipe follows)

Milk for topping

Sugar for topping

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line your cookie sheet with parchment paper. This prevents burning and also easier clean up.

In a large mixing bowl sift flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and sugar.

Cut butter and cream cheese into large pieces and add to flour mixture. (See picture)

With your fingers crumble the butter and cream cheese into pieces. They should be large pieces. (See picture)

Add milk and stir together. It will seem like it is not combining but do not worry because you will knead it all together.

On a lightly floured surface pour out contents and with floured hands (it will be sticky in the beginning) knead 10-12 times until it forms into a smooth ball. When kneading, make sure you are gathering all the contents from the bowl. Do not forget all those

little scraps that didn’t get incorporated while stirring.

At this point you can cut the dough in half if you plan on making two separate loaves

otherwise you will now roll the dough out into a rectangle approximately 12 x 8 inches.

Transfer to cookie sheet. Add a thick layer cream cheese filling and then a layer of cherry pie filling in the center leaving room on each side to cut dough to form braid. Using a sharp knife or a pair of kitchen shears make diagonal 1-inch cuts on each of the long sides of the dough. Fold strips over filling.

Brush the top of the braid with milk and sprinkle with sugar.

Bake for about 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.

Cream Cheese Filling

4 ounces cream cheese

4 ounces mascarpone cheese

2 egg yolks

2 T All-purpose flour

6 T sugar

1 t vanilla extract

¼ t salt

With an electric mixer, cream together all ingredients.

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

