Tequila Lime Chicken with a Tequila Glaze Sauce

Standard

Tequila Lime Chicken with a Shot of Tequila Glaze Sauce

Tequila Lime Chicken with a Tequila Glaze

A while ago my Aunt Teri told me about this Tequila Chicken she found on the Food Network site. Of course I was intrigued. A food with one of my favorite alcohols…. Yes please! So tonight I decided to get it a whirl and put a little spin on it.

I added the Tequila glaze recipe to the mix as a dipping sauce. My brother is all about dipping sauces for his chicken. And let me tell you this dipping sauce might be the best sauce I have ever made! I not only dipped my chicken in it, but also my broccoli, cauliflower, and potatoes. My brother was licking it off his finger.

Tequila Lime Chicken

Ingredients:

¼ Cup gold tequila

½ Cup lime juice

¼ Cup orange juice

1 ½ tsp chili powder

1 T jalapeno pepper, minced

1 T garlic, minced

Pinch of salt

Pinch of pepper

3 boneless chicken breast, cut in half (6 tenders)

To make the marinade, in a bowl (or 2 cup measuring cup- easier cleanup) stir together all the ingredients except the chicken.

Cut and clean up chicken.  With a fork poke the chicken on both sides so the marinade seeps in. Place chicken in a large Ziploc bag and pour marinade into bag. Swoosh it around a bit and refrigerate for at least an hour. The longer you marinade the stronger that tastes will be. Overnight will make it extra tasty!

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray to prevent sticking. Since the minced jalapeno and garlic are floating around the plastic bag, I pick out some and placing it on top of the chicken.

Bake for 18-22 minutes or until internal temperature reaches 165 degrees. Half-way through cooking flip chicken over.

Tequila Glaze

If you asked my brother what to use this dipping sauce for he would respond with ‘Everything!’ It has almost a sweet and sour taste to it with a little kick at the end. Not only could you use it as a dipping sauce but also as a flavoring agent for your steamed veggies or add a nice coat to chicken while grilling out. I think the sky’s the limit when using this glaze. J

Ingredients: (makes about ½ Cup of sauce)

1/3 Cup Orange Juice

¼ Cup gold tequila

2 T light brown sugar

2 T honey

8-10 sliced jalapeno, from a jar

In a sauce pan bring all ingredients to a boil. Lower heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Remove from stove and let cool.

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

