Mom’s Zucchini Bread

Standard

My mom has been making Zucchini Bread for our family for as long as I can remember. She has the best recipe I have ever had and I want to share it with everyone. I remember one year we planted zucchini in our garden and it produced so much zucchini I ended up making 14-16 loaves of bread at one time. We froze it, I shipped it to relatives, and ate zucchini bread until it was coming out of our ears. This year we planted another zucchini plant and only time will tell if I will have the pleasure of baking zucchini bread until Christmas time. 🙂 It is a simple recipes that I hope everyone will enjoy!

Ingredients: (makes 2 loaves)

3 Cups flour

1 1/2 Cups sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp baking soda

1 Cup raisins

1 Cup walnuts chopped

2 Cups shredded unpeeled zucchini

3 eggs

1 Cup vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Have ready 2 loaf pans. DO NOT grease or spray pans. They do not need any greasing for this recipe.

In a large bowl (and make sure it is large because otherwise you might make a mess when mixing) combine flour, sugar, cinnamon, salt, baking powder,  and baking soda. Once that is all mixed together add raisins and walnuts and mix together.

When shredding your zucchini you can use a grater or a food processor. Whichever is easier for you. Do not peel the zucchini. Add zucchini to the dry mixture. This is where you have to be careful you do not push half your dry ingredients out of your bowl. I have done that a few times. 🙂 You want to break up the zucchini into the dry mixture.

In a separate bowl beat together with a fork the eggs and oil. Add to the large bowl and stir until everything is incorporated. Do not overmix the batter.

Divide evenly into two loaf pans.

Bake for 50-60 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. Sometime it might be a little longer depending on size of pan.

Once cool use a knife to loosen the edges and flip it over. Wrap in Saran wrap and then foil to keep fresh. You can also freeze loaves.

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

