Honey Crunch Cake

Standard

If you know me then you know my LOVE for Disney World. My parents when to the Wine and Food Festival a couple of years ago (without me) and as my present for staying home and watching the dogs I got a couple amazing cookbooks of recipes from different Disney Restaurants throughout the Parks and Resorts. Most are pretty amazing recipes that I have yet to try so I figured today would be a day I would try one of these decadent desserts. This one is taken from the Contemporary Resort at the California Grill at the Walt Disney World Resort. There are many steps to it but it was completely worth the time. This is definitely in my top favorite cake category. It is different in flavor and technique then what I am use to. I hope everyone enjoys! 🙂

Step 1: Sponge Cake

Ingredients:

1/2 Cup Milk

1/2 Cup unsalted butter

1 1/2 Cup all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

3 eggs

1/4 tsp salt

1 Cup sugar

3/4 tsp almond extract

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 375 degree. Grease with butter and flour a 9 inch round cake pan.

In a small sauce pan melt together milk and butter then remove from heat.

In a separate bowl sift together flour and baking powder.

With an electric mixer using a whisk attachment mix eggs. Whip in salt and then in a steady stream add in sugar. Continue whipping for about 30 seconds.

Add both extracts. Gently whip in butter mixture and then gradually add in flour mixture. Mix until smooth.

Pour into cake pan and bake for 25-30 minutes until toothpick comes out clean. Let cool.

Step 2: Honey Crunch

Ingredients:

3 Tablespoons water

1 Cup sugar

3 Tablespoons light corn syrup

2 1/4 tsp baking soda

In a large sauce pan over medium heat combine water, sugar, and corn syrup.

Using a candy thermometer, let temperature rise to 310 degrees. Once it hits 310 degrees whisk in baking soda and turn off heat. Let mixture risk without stirring. Pour onto a Silpat mat and completely cool.

** Make sure it does not go over 310 degrees because the sugar will start to burn. you do not want the sugar mixture to turn golden until you add the baking soda. ALSO if you do not have Silpat mat (I do not have one) you can use a plastic cutting board. I used 2 large plastic cutting boards to be able to spread the candy out.

As soon as the mixture slows down on rising which is a matter of seconds is when you pour onto silpat mats. It does not have to look pretty on the mat because once it cools down you will break it up into little pieces.

Step 3: Honey Simple Syrup

Ingredients:

1/2 Cup water

1/2 Cup sugar

2 teaspoons honey

In a small sauce pan combine water and sugar. Bring to a boil. Remove from heat and add honey. Whisk together. Store in refrigerator until ready to use.

Step 4: Honey Whipped Cream

Ingredients:

3 Cups heavy whipping cream

3/4 Cup confectioners’ sugar

5 Tablespoons honey

Using an electric mixer with a whisk attachment, whisk together on medium speed cream and sugar for 2 minutes or until it begins to thicken.

Add honey and increase speed to high until medium soft peaks form.

Step 5: Assembly of Cake

1. Cut cake into two layer.

2. Drizzle the bottom layer with simple syrup.

3. Generously spread whipped cream on the bottom layer, then sprinkle with broken pieces of honey crunch. Spread more chipped cream over the honey crunch.

4. Drizzle the cut side of the top layer cake with the rest of the simple syrup and place on cake.

5. Frost the top and sides of cake with remaining whipped cream. Use the remaining honey crunch to top cake for decoration.

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

