Tony’s Potatoes and Caramelized Sweet Potatoes

Standard

Potatoes Potatoes Potatoes. Definitely a staple in my house. We are always just making baked potatoes or mashed potatoes. I was getting bored with those so I have been trying to add different ways to eat one of my favorite foods.

I am always making steamed broccoli and my brother Tony asked me the other day to make him some mashed potatoes with broccoli in them and maybe some cheese and maybe some garlic. So because of this recipe I give all the credit to my little brother. Which is why I am calling them Tony’s Potatoes.

Tony’s Potatoes

Ingredients:

6 Idaho Potatoes (cubed and skin left on)

2 Tablespoons Butter

1/4 Cup milk

1 Cup broccoli (stemmed and chopped up)

1 1/2 Tablespoons Garlic Powder

1 1/2 Cups Shredded Cheddar Cheese

When boiling potatoes make sure the potatoes are completely covered with water. Boil potatoes until soft and able to stick a fork in them. Drain them.

Add butter and milk and smash down with a potato masher. Add in broccoli, garlic powder, and cheese. Mush together until everything is swirled throughout.

This is to my brothers liking so if you like more garlic, cheese, or even broccoli add more. The more the merrier :0) ENJOY!!

Tony’s Potatoes (Left) and Caramelized Sweet Potatoes (Right)

Caramelized Sweet Potatoes

My mom does not like anything with cheese and not very often does she eat things with garlic in them. I could put cheese on everything and it would be perfect, but since I am such a great daughter I try to come up with recipes that will appeal to her taste buds. That is when I figured why not try sweet potatoes because they have such a great sweet flavor.

Ingredients:

1 Large Sweet Potato (peeled and cut into sticks)

4 Tablespoons light brown sugar

4 Tablespoons olive oil

2 teaspoons salt

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Make sure sweet potato is peeled and cut into sticks. You want to make the sticks about the same thickness and length because then they will take the same amount of time to cook.

In a medium size bowl you want to stir together sugar, oil, and salt. Toss the sweet potato sticks in the mixture to where they are evenly coated. Only put a handful in the bowl at a time to ensure coverage. Transfer to parchment paper.

Bake for 15-20 minutes until sweet potatoes are soft.

Now for the crisping part. I put the broiler on and broil them for 3-5 minutes. Keep an eye on them so that they do not burn. When you take them out of the oven they might still look soft but after letting them sit they will begin to caramelize and hold their shape.

Hopefully these will become a sweet side dish everyone will like. 🙂

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

