Thin Crust Pizza Dough

Standard

I have always wanted to make homemade pizza. I am not one to flip dough over my head so I experimented with some doughs and added my own tweaks to different ones to make my perfect pizza dough.

Dad’s Favorite Pepperoni, Bacon, Roasted Red Pepper, Tomatoes, and Fresh Basil

Ingredients for dough (makes about 4 thin crust pizzas):

½ Cup Warm Water

2½ Teaspoon Active Dry Yeast

1¼ Cups room temperature water

2 Tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil

4 Cups Bread Flour

1½ Tablespoons Italian Seasoning

1 Tablespoon Dried Oregano

1½ Teaspoon salt

I just want to let everyone know that I use a Kitchen Aid mixer and for this recipe I use the dough hook. If you do not have a dough hook for your mixer it is going to get a little bit messy for you. When it is time for kneading you will have to use your hands to work everything together.

In your mixing bowl you are going to want to put the warm water and active dry yeast. Mix them together and let it sit for 5 minutes. Then add the room temperature water and EVOO. Add bread flour, Italian seasoning, oregano, and salt on top of the yeast mixture. Turn mixer on low speed and let your dough hook do its magic. You are looking for it to form into a ball. Once it is all formed you are going to keep your mixture on low and let it knead for about 5 minutes. If you are having a tough time getting it to all form together, I occasionally have to add a little bit of water to get everything to bind. I also use a rubber spatula to make sure all the flour is picked up at the bottom of the mixer. 

After the 5 minutes of mixing is done transfer the ball of dough to a bowl greased with EVOO. Cover with a towel and let it sit for 45 minutes to and hour.

Once the dough has risen it is time to form it into the pizza crust. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Cut the dough into however many pizzas you are wanting to make. I usually get 4 out of this recipe. Then throw a little flour on your surface and roll your pizza dough into whatever shape you would like. Add your favorite toppings and cook for 10-15 minutes. Sometimes longer depending on your oven and how crispy you like your crust.

Time to enjoy!!

Mom’s Favorite a sprinkle of cheese with Tomatoes, green pepper, and pepperoni

About kristinegough86

I have the passion to bake and love trying new recipes! I work at a school for children with disabilities as a manager of a cafe. This cafe allows the students learn the ability to work with the public and in the near future I am going to be able to bake with the students and let them learn about the love and passion there is to baking. :) I prefer baking over cooking although I do love to cook as well. I hardly ever repeat a recipe. I love my family, dogs, friends, and job. One day I will have my own bakery and I can not wait. Until then I am going to continue baking my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

